A comprehensive list of Halal and Haram ingredients starting with the letter D. The list contains common uses of the ingredients in the food/medicine/cosmetic industries, sources and halal and haram status.
DATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ester of Monoglycerides) (Doubtful)
DATEM (diacetyl tartaric acid ester of mono- and diglycerides, also E472e) is an emulsifier primarily used in baking to create a strong gluten network in dough. It is added to crusty breads, such as rye to impart a springy, chewy texture, as well as in the production of biscuits, coffee whiteners, salsa con queso, ice cream, and salad dressings. The ingredient is prepared by the reaction of diacetyl tartaric anhydride with mono- and diglycerides that are derived from edible sources. Halal if the fat source for processing is obtained from Halal sources (eg. Vegetables) and the containing product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Dextrins are a group of low-molecular-weight carbohydrates produced by the hydrolysis of plant starch. White dextrins are used as a crispness enhancer for food processing, in food batters, coatings, and glazes, (INS number 1400).
The D-isomer, D-glucose, also known as dextrose, occurs widely in nature. Can be obtained by hydrolysis of carbohydrates such as milk sugar, cane sugar, maltose, cellulose, glycogen etc. It is commonly commercially manufactured from cornstarch by hydrolysis via pressurized steaming at controlled pH in a jet followed by further enzymatic depolymerization.
Dicalcium Phosphate (Halal)
A chemical. It is also known as dibasic calcium phosphate or calcium monohydrogen phosphate. Dicalcium phosphate is used as a food additive, it is found in some toothpastes as a polishing agent and is a biomaterial. Dicalcium phosphate is produced by the reaction of calcium chloride and phosphoric acid.
A diglyceride, or diacylglycerol (DAG), is a glyceride consisting of two fatty acid chains covalently bonded to a glycerol molecule through ester linkages. Industrial production is primarily achieved by a glycerolysis reaction between triglycerides and glycerol, the raw materials this may be either vegetable or animal fats and oils. Halal only if the raw material (fat) is from vegetable source or if the containing product is Halal or Kosher certified. Also see Monoglycerides.
A plant based spice. Fresh and dried dill leaves (sometimes called “dill weed” to distinguish it from dill seed) are widely used as herbs in Europe and central Asia.
Dipotassium Phosphate (Halal)
A chemical. Dipotassium phosphate (also dipotassium hydrogen orthophosphate; potassium phosphate dibasic) is a highly water-soluble salt which is often used as a fertilizer, food additive and buffering agent. As a food additive, dipotassium phosphate is used in imitation dairy creamers, dry powder beverages, mineral supplements, and starter cultures.
Disodium Guanosine 5′ – Monophosphate (Haram)
Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Disodium Guanosine 5′ – Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Disodium Guanylate (Halal)
Disodium guanylate, also known as sodium 5′-guanylate and disodium 5′-guanylate, is a natural sodium salt of the flavor enhancing nucleotide guanosine monophosphate (GMP). Disodium guanylate is a food additive with the E number E627. Although it is a nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in infant baby formula. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Disodium Inosinate (Doubtful)
Disodium inosinate (E631) is the disodium salt of inosinic acid. It is used as a food additive and often found in instant noodles, potato chips, and a variety of other snacks. Although it can be obtained from bacterial fermentation of sugars, it is often commercially prepared from animal sources. Disodium inosinate is used as a flavor enhancer, in synergy with monosodium glutamate (MSG) to provide the umami taste. Consume only if the containing product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Disodium Uridine 5′ – Monophosphate (Haram)
Disodium Uridine 5′ – Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Dried Milk (Doubtful)
Powdered milk or dried milk is a manufactured dairy product made by evaporating milk to dryness. The milk used maybe fortified with vitamins which should be from halal sources. Consume if the containing product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Durum Flour (Halal)
Manufactured from Durum Wheat.