The most selfish 1 letter word – I – avoid it. The most satisfying 2 letter word – We – use it. The most poisonous 3 letter word – Ego – kill it. The most used 4 letter word – Love – value it. The most pleasing 5 letter word – Smile – keep it. […]
Halal Haram Ingredient List Starting With Letter B
A comprehensive list of Halal and Haram ingredients starting with the letter B. The list contains common uses of the ingredients in the food/medicine/cosmetic industries, sources and halal and haram status.
Bacon is a meat product prepared from pork.
Baker’s Yeast (Halal)
It is believed to have been originally isolated from the skin of grapes (one can see the yeast as a component of the thin white film on the skins of some dark-colored fruits such as plums; it exists among the waxes of the cuticle). The carbon dioxide generated by the fermentation is used as a leavening agent in bread and other baked goods.
Baker’s Yeast Extract (Halal)
Flavouring agent obtained from Baker’s Yeast cells.
Baking Powder (Halal)
Baking powder is a dry chemical leavening agent, a mixture of a carbonate or bicarbonate and a weak acid, and is used for increasing the volume and lightening the texture of baked goods.
Baking Soda (Halal)
Also known as bread soda, cooking soda, and bicarbonate of soda. Sodium bicarbonate, referred to as baking soda, is primarily used in baking, as a leavening agent.
Balsamic Vinegar (Doubtful)
Traditional balsamic vinegar is produced from the juice of just-harvested white grapes (typically, Trebbiano grapes) boiled down to approximately 30% of the original volume to create a concentrate or must, which is then fermented with a slow aging process which concentrates the flavours. The flavour intensifies over the years, with the vinegar being stored in wooden casks, becoming sweet, viscous and very concentrated. During this period, a portion evaporates: it is said that this is the “angels’ share”, a term also used in the production of bourbon whiskey, scotch whisky, wine, and other alcoholic beverages. Commercial-grade balsamic vinegar is used in salad dressings, dips, marinades, reductions, and sauces. The reason why this vinegar is doubtful is because Alcohol/wine maybe introduced in the process of manufacturing it.
Plant based spice. Also called great basil or Saint-Joseph’s-wort, is a culinary herb of the family Lamiaceae (mints). It is also called the “king of herbs” and the “royal herb”.
Bay Leaves (Halal)
Bay leaf (plural bay leaves) refers to the aromatic leaves of several plants used in cooking.
Beer Batters (Haram)
Beer is a popular ingredient in batters used to coat foods before frying. The purpose of using beer is so the bubbles in the beer will add body and lightness to the batter. Beer batter is not permissible as is contains Beer as an ingredient which is haram.
Beer Flavor (Haram)
Contains beer. (See Beer above)
Beeswax (Cera alba) is a natural wax produced by honey bees of the genus Apis. The wax is formed into “scales” by eight wax-producing glands in the abdominal segments of worker bees, who discard it in or at the hive.
Behenyl Alcohol or Docosanol (Doubtful)
Docosanol, also known as behenyl alcohol, is a saturated fatty alcohol used traditionally as an emollient, emulsifier, and thickener in cosmetics, and nutritional supplement. It is not Halal if obtained from grape seeds a by-product of grape wine making. It is Halal if obtained from soy fat. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
This colorless liquid has a characteristic almond-like odor. Benzaldehyde is the primary component of bitter almond oil and can be extracted from a number of other natural sources. Synthetic benzaldehyde is the flavoring agent in imitation almond extract, which is used to flavor cakes and other baked goods.
Benzoic acid (Halal)
Benzoic acid occurs naturally in many plants and it serves as an intermediate in the biosynthesis of many secondary metabolites. Salts of benzoic acid are used as food preservatives.
β-Carotene is an organic, strongly colored red-orange pigment abundant in plants and fruits. Beta Caroten is natural color obtained from plant but it is not sold as is but with carrier must be added for mixing purpose for dy products or liquid products. If vegetable oil I or fish gelatin is added as carrier the it is considred as Halal beta carotene. A Halal or Kosher symbol on food product conatining beta carotene indicate eithjer vegetable oil or fish gelatin is added as a carrier. OR Pork gelatin may be used as a carrier for proper dispersion of Beta-Carotene. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
A beta hydroxy acid or β-hydroxy acid (BHA) is an organic compound that contains a carboxylic acid functional group and hydroxy functional group separated by two carbon atoms. A chemical preservative but always available with fat based carrier. Halal if vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Not Halal if animal fat is used as a carrier. A Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package containing BHA indicate only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT), also known as dibutylhydroxytoluene, is a lipophilic organic compound, chemically a derivative of phenol, that is useful for its antioxidant properties. A chemical preservative but always available with fat based carrier. Halal if vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Not Halal if animal fat is used as a carrier. A Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package containing BHT indicate only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Bran, also known as miller’s bran, is the hard outer layers of cereal grain.
Brewer’s Yeast Extract (Haram)
Brewer yeast is a single celled bacteria. In food products especially for meaty flavors or strong flavors, only brewer’s yeast extract from beer making is used. According to ulema it is Haram ingredients because alcohol, beer flavor compounds are leached inside the yeast cell and is not subjected to any change. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Bulgur wheat (Halal)
Bulgur is a cereal food made from the groats of several different wheat species, most often from durum wheat. Bulgur is a kind of dried cracked wheat.
Butter fat Lipolyzed (Doubtful)
Consume if the product contains a Halal or Kosher symbol.
Buttermilk Solids (Doubtful)
Consume if the product contains a Halal or Kosher symbol.
Leave a Reply