The most selfish 1 letter word – I – avoid it. The most satisfying 2 letter word – We – use it. The most poisonous 3 letter word – Ego – kill it. The most used 4 letter word – Love – value it. The most pleasing 5 letter word – Smile – keep it. […]
A comprehensive list of Halal and Haram ingredients starting with the letter E. The list contains common uses of the ingredients in the food/medicine/cosmetic industries, sources and halal and haram status.
Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA), also known by several other names, is a chemical used for both industrial and medical purposes. Its usefulness arises because of its role as a chelating agent. Chelation is a type of bonding of ions and molecules to metal ions. Chelation is useful in applications such as providing nutritional supplements.
Enzyme Modified Lecithin (Doubtful)
Enzyme modified Lecithin is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified. If you see a Halal or Kosher symbol on food package containing enzyme modified lecithin the enzyme modified lecithin is Halal. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Enzyme Modified Soya Lecithin (Doubtful)
Soy lecithin is modified by use of lipase enzyme. It is Halal only if microbial lipase is used or Halal or Kosher certified. (Source: muslimconsumergroup.com)
Enzymes used in Bakery Products (Halal)
Amylases and Proteolysis used in bakery products are halal.
Enzymes used in Cheeses or Dairy Products (Doubtful)
Enzymes used in production of cheese and dairy products can be from plant or animal sources. Consume if the product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Erythorbic Acid (Halal)
Erythorbic acid (isoascorbic acid, D-araboascorbic acid, (D-)erythroascorbic acid) is a stereoisomer of ascorbic acid (vitamin C). It is a vegetable based food preservative.
Erythritol is a sugar alcohol. Used as a food additive. It occurs naturally in some fruit and fermented foods. At the industrial level, it is produced from glucose by alcoholic fermentation with a yeast, Moniliella pollinis.
Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides (Doubtful)
Can be from vegetable or animal sources. Consume if the product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Ethyl Alcohol or Ethanol (Haram)
Ethanol (EtOH), also called alcohol, ethyl alcohol, and drinking alcohol, is the principal type of alcohol found in alcoholic beverages, produced by the fermentation of sugars by yeasts. Ethanol, often in high concentrations, is used to dissolve many water-insoluble medications and related compounds. Liquid preparations of cough and cold remedies, pain medication, and mouth washes may be dissolved in 1 to 25% concentrations of ethanol. Use of ethanol in medical products is deemed permissible by some scholars. However, drinking alcohol as a habit or without medical reason is not permitted.
Ethylvanillin is the organic compound with the formula (C2H5O)(HO)C6H3CHO. This colorless solid consists of a benzene ring with hydroxyl, ethoxy, and formyl groups. Ethylvanillin is a synthetic molecule, not found in nature. As a flavorant, ethylvanillin is about three times as potent as vanillin and is used in the production of chocolate.