The most selfish 1 letter word – I – avoid it. The most satisfying 2 letter word – We – use it. The most poisonous 3 letter word – Ego – kill it. The most used 4 letter word – Love – value it. The most pleasing 5 letter word – Smile – keep it. […]
A comprehensive list of Halal and Haram ingredients starting with the letter F. The list contains common uses of the ingredients in the food/medicine/cosmetic industries, sources and halal and haram status.
Farina is a form of milled wheat most often used to prepare hot cereal for breakfast. The word “farina” is Latin, meaning meal or flour. It is made from the germ and endosperm of the grain, which is milled to a fine granular consistency and then sifted.
Fennel (Foeniculum vulgare) is a flowering plant species in the carrot family. The bulb, foliage, and seeds of the fennel plant are used in many of the culinary traditions of the world.
Fenugreek is an annual plant in the family Fabaceae, with leaves consisting of three small obovate to oblong leaflets. It is cultivated worldwide as a semiarid crop, and its seeds are a common ingredient in dishes from South Asia.
Fermented Cider (Haram)
Cider, known as hard cider in North America, is an alcoholic beverage made from the fermented juice of apples.
Ferric Oxide (Halal)
Iron(III) oxide or ferric oxide is the inorganic compound with the formula Fe2O3. Iron(III) oxide is a product of the oxidation of iron. It can be prepared in the laboratory by electrolyzing a solution of sodium bicarbonate, an inert electrolyte, with an iron anode. Iron(III) oxide is also used as a pigment, under names “Pigment Brown 6”, “Pigment Brown 7”, and “Pigment Red 101”. Some of them, e.g. Pigment Red 101 and Pigment Brown 6, are Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved for use in cosmetics. Iron oxides are used as pigments in dental composites alongside titanium oxides. A mixture of zinc oxide with about 0.5% iron(III) oxide is called calamine, which is the active ingredient of calamine lotion.
Ferrous Sulphate (Halal)
Iron(II) sulfate or ferrous sulfate denotes a range of salts. It is on the World Health Organization’s List of Essential Medicines, the most important medications needed in a basic health system. Together with other iron compounds, ferrous sulfate is used to fortify foods and to treat iron deficiency anemia.
Fish Gelatin (Halal)
Not to be confused with “Gelatin”. Fish gelatin is obtained from fish and is halal.
Flour, Bleached Flour, Refined Flour, Enriched Flour (Halal)
Flour is a powder made by grinding raw grains or roots and used to make many different foods. Cereal flour is the main ingredient of bread, which is a staple food for many cultures. “Bleached flour” is any refined flour with a whitening agent added. “Refined flour” has had the germ and bran removed and is typically referred to as “white flour”. During the process of making flour nutrients are lost. Some of these nutrients may be replaced during refining – the result is enriched flour. Generally flour is halal however, when additives are added, please look for Halal or Kosher certifications on the packaging and pay further attention to the ingredients.
Folic Acid (Doubtful)
Folic acid, another form of which is known as folate, is one of the B vitamins. It is used as a supplement by women to prevent neural tube defects (NTDs) developing during pregnancy. It is also used to treat anemia caused by folic acid deficiency. More than 50 countries require fortification of certain foods with folic acid as a measure to decrease the rate of NTDs in the population. Folate naturally occurs in a wide variety of foods, including vegetables (particularly dark green leafy vegetables), fruits and fruit juices, nuts, beans, peas, dairy products, poultry and meat, eggs, seafood, grains, and some beers. Avocado, beetroot, spinach, liver, yeast, asparagus, and Brussels sprouts are among the foods with the highest levels of folate. Since folic acid can be sourced from both vegetable and animal sources, only folic acid obtained from vegetable sources is halal. Also halal if the animal source is halal. Look for Halal or Kosher symbols on packaging before consumption.
Fructose, or fruit sugar, is a simple ketonic monosaccharide found in many plants. Fructose is found in honey, tree and vine fruits, flowers, berries, and most root vegetables. Commercially, fructose is frequently derived from sugar cane, sugar beets, and corn.
Fumaric Acid (Halal)
Fumaric acid or trans-butenedioic acid is a chemical compound. Fumaric acid is found in fumitory (Fumaria officinalis), bolete mushrooms (specifically Boletus fomentarius var. pseudo-igniarius), lichen, and Iceland moss. Fumaric acid has been used as a food acidulant since 1946.