The most selfish 1 letter word – I – avoid it. The most satisfying 2 letter word – We – use it. The most poisonous 3 letter word – Ego – kill it. The most used 4 letter word – Love – value it. The most pleasing 5 letter word – Smile – keep it. […]
Halal Haram Ingredient List Starting With Letter G
A comprehensive list of Halal and Haram ingredients starting with the letter G. The list contains common uses of the ingredients in the food/medicine/cosmetic industries, sources and halal and haram status.
Used as a spice. Garlic (Allium sativum) is a bulbous plant.
Gelatin or gelatine is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless food derived from collagen obtained from various animal raw materials. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceutical drugs, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. On a commercial scale, gelatin is made from by-products of the meat and leather industries. Recently, fish by-products also have been considered suitable because they eliminate some of the religious obstacles surrounding gelatin consumption. Also, Gelatin is derived from pork skins, pork, and cattle bones, or split cattle hides. Gelatin is haram for consumption unless obtained from fish or halal animal.
Gellan Gum (Halal)
Obtained from plant. Gellan gum is a water-soluble anionic polysaccharide produced by the bacterium Sphingomonas elodea (formerly Pseudomonas elodea). As a food additive, gellan gum was first approved for food use in Japan (1988). Gellan gum has subsequently been approved for food, non-food, cosmetic and pharmaceutical uses by many other countries such as US, Canada, China, Korea and the European Union etc. It is widely used as a thickener, emulsifier, and stabilizer. It has E number E418.
Ghatti Gum (Halal)
Obtained from plants.
A plant based spice.
Glucono Delta-Lactone (Halal)
Glucono delta-lactone (GDL), also known as gluconolactone, is a food additive with the E number E575 used as a sequestrant, an acidifier, or a curing, pickling, or leavening agent. GDL is commonly found in honey and fruit juices. It is obtained through bacterial non alcoholic fermentation.
Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, and oat. It gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture.
Glycerol (also called glycerine or glycerin; see spelling differences) is a simple polyol compound. It is a colorless, odorless, viscous liquid that is sweet-tasting and non-toxic. It is widely used in the food industry as a sweetener and humectant and in pharmaceutical formulations. Glycerol is generally obtained from plant and animal sources where it occurs as triglycerides. Typical plant sources include soybeans or palm. Animal-derived tallow is another source. Consume if the glecirin is obtained from plant sources.
Glycerol Ester (Doubtful)
Can be plant or animal based. Consume if the product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Glycerol Monostearate (Doubtful)
Glycerol monostearate, commonly known as GMS, is an organic molecule used as an emulsifier. GMS is a food additive used as a thickening, emulsifying, anti-caking, and preservative agent; an emulsifying agent for oils, waxes, and solvents; a protective coating for hygroscopic powders; a solidifier and control release agent in pharmaceuticals; and a resin lubricant. It is also used in cosmetics and hair care products. GMS is largely used in baking preparations to add “body” to the food. It is responsible for giving ice cream and whipped cream its smooth texture. It is sometimes used as an anti-staling agent in bread. Can be plant or animal based. Consume if the product is Halal or Kosher certified.
Graham Flour (Halal)
Graham flour is a type of flour named after Sylvester Graham. Graham flour is identical to whole wheat flour in that both are made from the Whole grain.
Grape Seed Extract (Doubtful)
Grape seed extract is an industrial derivative of whole grape seeds. The seeds are usually obtained after grape wine production.
Grape Skin Powder (Doubtful)
The grape skin is typically obtained from wineries.
Grape Seed Oil (Doubtful)
Grape seed oil (also called grapeseed oil or grape oil) is pressed from the seeds of grapes, and is thus an abundant by-product of winemaking. It is widely used in baked goods, pancakes, and waffles. It is sprayed on raisins to help them retain their flavor.
Guar Gum (Halal)
Plant based. Guar gum, also called guaran, is primarily the ground endosperm of guar beans. The guar seeds are dehusked, milled and screened to obtain the guar gum.
It is very helpful